Mitutoyo Dial Test Indicator vs Dial Indicator: How to Choose
Share
Quick answer
Use a dial test indicator (lever type) when you need to check small deviations: runout, flatness, alignment, or setting up a part on a machine. The Mitutoyo TI series we stock covers 0.14 mm to 1 mm of range with 0.001 mm to 0.01 mm graduation.
Use a dial or digital indicator (plunger type) when you need to measure a longer travel along a straight line, for example height differences or thickness on a comparator stand. The models we stock cover 0-1 mm up to 0-100 mm (dial) and 0-12.7 mm up to 0-50.8 mm (Digimatic digital).
All values below come from the specification tables on our product pages. Where a page does not state a value, we write "Not confirmed".
Dial test indicator vs dial indicator: what is the difference?
Both tools show a small movement on a dial or display, but the contact point moves in a different way.
- Dial test indicator (lever type): the contact point sits on a lever arm that swings in a small arc. This lets it reach into bores, under edges and onto side faces, and it is suited to comparison work such as checking runout or indicating a part true. The measuring range is short (1 mm or less on all TI models we stock).
- Dial indicator / digital indicator (plunger type): the contact point is on a spindle (plunger) that moves straight in and out. It is suited to measuring a displacement along the spindle axis, with a longer range. Analog models show the reading on a needle dial; Digimatic models show it on a digital display.
In short: a test indicator answers "how much does this surface deviate?", and a plunger indicator answers "how far did this point move along one axis?".
How to choose
- Graduation first. For the finest readings on a test indicator, the TI-111HX and TI-111HRX read 0.001 mm. The TI-112HX, TI-112HRX and TI-212HX read 0.002 mm. The others read 0.01 mm. On plunger indicators, the 1013A-10 and 1013AB-10 read 0.002 mm, and most ID-C models list a switchable display of 0.0005 / 0.001 / 0.01 mm.
- Then range. A finer graduation comes with a shorter range. Among test indicators, the TI-123HX and TI-123HRX have the longest range (0-1 mm). For longer travel, the plunger models go up to 0-100 mm (3062A-19).
- Measuring force. For soft or thin parts, a lower force helps. The TI-123HX and TI-123HRX list 0.2 N or less; the other test indicators with a stated value list 0.3 N or less. Among plunger indicators, the ID-C1012CNXB lists 0.5 N or less and the ID-C0512CNXB lists 0.7 N or less.
- Contact point (stylus). Test indicator models with "R" in the name (for example TI-113HRX) list a ruby ball contact point. The TI-129HX lists a long point with a carbide measuring tip. For the other models, the contact point material is Not confirmed on our pages. Stylus length is Not confirmed for all models.
- Analog or digital. Choose an analog dial if you like to read trends on a needle. Choose a Digimatic ID-C model if you want a numeric display and finer display steps. Digital data output is Not confirmed on our product pages, so check with us before ordering if you need it.
- Model names differ by market. We list Japanese-market model names and manufacturer codes (for example 513-404-10H or 543-700). If you searched for a model number we do not list, compare by range, graduation and measuring force in the tables below.
Mitutoyo test indicators (lever type) we stock
| Model | Range (mm) | Graduation (mm) | Dial reading | Measuring force (N) | Contact point |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TI-111HX (513-401-10H) | 0-0.14 | 0.001 | 0-70-0 | 0.3 or less | Not confirmed |
| TI-111HRX (513-471-10H) | 0-0.14 | 0.001 | 0-70-0 | 0.3 or less | Ruby ball |
| TI-112HX (513-405-10H) | 0-0.2 | 0.002 | 0-100-0 | 0.3 or less | Not confirmed |
| TI-112HRX (513-475-10H) | 0-0.2 | 0.002 | 0-100-0 | 0.3 or less | Ruby ball |
| TI-212HX (513-455-10H) | 0-0.2 | 0.002 | 0-100-0 | 0.3 or less | Not confirmed |
| TI-133HX (513-424-10H) | 0-0.5 | 0.01 | 0-25-0 | 0.3 or less | Not confirmed |
| TI-133HRX (513-478-10H) | 0-0.5 | 0.01 | 0-25-0 | 0.3 or less | Ruby ball |
| TI-129HX (513-414-10H) | 0-0.5 | 0.01 | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Long point, carbide tip |
| TI-113HX (513-404-10H) | 0-0.8 | 0.01 | 0-40-0 | 0.3 or less | Not confirmed |
| TI-113HRX (513-474-10H) | 0-0.8 | 0.01 | 0-40-0 | 0.3 or less | Ruby ball |
| TI-213HX (513-454-10H) | 0-0.8 | 0.01 | 0-40-0 | 0.3 or less | Not confirmed |
| TI-123HX (513-415-10H) | 0-1 | 0.01 | 0-50-0 | 0.2 or less | Not confirmed |
| TI-123HRX (513-477-10H) | 0-1 | 0.01 | 0-50-0 | 0.2 or less | Ruby ball |
All 13 test indicators list Japan as the country of origin. Twelve list a 40 mm dial and a 6 mm mounting shaft; the TI-129HX page does not state these (Not confirmed).
Mitutoyo TI-111HX Dial Test Indicator, 0-0.14 mm (513-401-10H)
Mitutoyo TI-111HRX Dial Test Indicator, 0-0.14 mm (513-471-10H)
Mitutoyo dial and Digimatic indicators (plunger type) we stock
| Model | Type | Range (mm) | Graduation / display (mm) | Measuring force (N) | Stem dia. (mm) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1013A-10 | Dial, 40 mm dial, lug back | 0-1 | 0.002 | 1.5 or less | 8 |
| 1013AB-10 | Dial, 40 mm dial, flat back | 0-1 | 0.002 | 1.5 or less | 8 |
| 1040A | Dial, 40 mm dial, lug back | 0-3.5 | 0.01 | 1.4 or less | 8 |
| 2044A-60 | Dial, 57 mm dial | 0-5 | 0.01 | 2.5 or less | 8 |
| 3062A-19 | Dial, 78 mm dial | 0-100 | 0.01 | 3.5 or less | 8 |
| ID-C0512NX (543-700) | Digital | 0-12.7 | 0.0005 / 0.001 / 0.01 (switchable) | 1.5 or less | 8 |
| ID-C0512NXB (543-700B) | Digital, IP42 | 0-12.7 | 0.0005 / 0.001 / 0.01 (switchable) | 1.5 or less | 8 |
| ID-C0512CNXB (543-705B) | Digital | 0-12.7 | 0.0005 / 0.001 / 0.01 (switchable) | 0.7 or less | 8 |
| ID-C1012CNXB (543-715B) | Digital | 0-12.7 | 0.01 | 0.5 or less | 8 |
| ID-C0525NXB (543-720B) | Digital | 0-25.4 | 0.0005 / 0.001 / 0.01 (switchable) | 1.8 or less | 8 |
| ID-C0550NXB (543-730B) | Digital | 0-50.8 | 0.0005 / 0.001 / 0.01 (switchable) | 2.3 or less | 8 |
The ID-C0512NX, ID-C0512NXB, ID-C0512CNXB and ID-C1012CNXB list "all positions" for mounting; the ID-C0525NXB and ID-C0550NXB list "downward to horizontal". The ID-C0512NX page lists one SR44 battery (included). Digital data output is Not confirmed on all of these pages. We also stock the Digimatic ID-S1012X2 (543-781-10), ID-S1012XB2 (543-781B-10) and ID-S112XB2 (543-790B-10); their range, display and measuring force are Not confirmed on our pages, so they are not in the table.
Mitutoyo 1013A-10 Compact Dial Indicator, Lug Back, 0-1 mm
Mitutoyo 1013AB-10 Compact Dial Indicator, Flat Back, 0-1 mm
Mounting: comparator stands
An indicator is only as stable as what holds it. A granite comparator stand gives a flat reference surface and a rigid column for comparison measurement. Our stand pages list these mounting holes:
Mitutoyo BSG-18X Granite Comparator Stand (Measuring Stand) for Dial and Test Indicators (215-150-10)
Mitutoyo BSG-20X Granite Comparator Stand (215-151-10)
- BSG-18X (215-150-10): 120 x 180 mm granite base, 30 mm column, 9.53 mm mounting hole with 8 mm bushing.
- BSG-20X (215-151-10): 150 x 200 mm base, 30 x 300 mm column, 8 mm mounting hole.
- BSG-25X (215-153-10): 200 x 250 mm base, 40 x 320 mm column, 8 mm mounting hole.
- BSG-30HX (215-156-10): 250 x 300 mm base, 50 x 400 mm column, fine adjustment screw; the page lists a 20 mm hole with 9.53 mm and 8 mm bushings.
All plunger indicators in the table above list an 8 mm stem, which matches the 8 mm hole or bushing listed on these stands. The TI test indicators list a 6 mm mounting shaft, which is a different size from the 8 mm hole. How to hold a TI model on each stand is Not confirmed on our pages, so contact us before ordering a stand for a test indicator.
FAQ
Can a dial test indicator replace a dial indicator?
Not for long travel. The TI models we stock have ranges of 1 mm or less, while our plunger indicators go up to 100 mm. A test indicator is better for comparison work such as runout and alignment.
Which Mitutoyo test indicator reads the finest?
The TI-111HX and TI-111HRX list a 0.001 mm graduation over a 0-0.14 mm range.
What does "R" mean in TI-113HRX?
On our pages, the models with "R" (TI-111HRX, TI-112HRX, TI-113HRX, TI-123HRX, TI-133HRX) list a ruby ball contact point. Otherwise their listed range, graduation and measuring force match the non-R version.
Are these Japanese-market models?
Yes. All stock is genuine Japanese-market stock shipped from Japan with tracking, and the indicator pages list Japan as the country of origin. The stand pages list China as the country of origin.



